2024 Arizona Nationals

Story by Jerry Hutchcroft

Fantastic weather and sell-out crowds, plus an awesome bonus thrown in for good measure, were highlights of the 39th Annual NHRA “Arizona Nationals” held at the re-named Firebird Motorsports Park in Chandler. Two weeks earlier in Pomona California, the Winternationals Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock final rounds were rained out, so the great Bonus for the Arizona fans was the final rounds were part of this race. In the Winter’s Top Fuel final, Justin Ashley took a hole shot victory over multiple time Champion Tony Schumacher. And in the Funny Car final, the crowd was treated to the 156th career win by the all time wins and championship leader, 75 year old John Force, with Matt Hagan as runner-up. In Pro Stock Dallas Glenn notched the win over Erica Enders.

The Arizona Nationals results are as follows; In Top Fuel, Justin Ashley was again in the final round, but this time Shawn Langdon got the win 3.760 to 3.849. In Funny Car, Austin Prock who drives for John Force Racing claimed the #1 qualifying spot and raced to his first ever Funny Car win, by beating Alexia DeJoria 3.952 to 4.049. In Pro Stock, multiple time champion Greg Anderson defeated Dallas Glenn 6.582 to 6.618.

Other Results:
Pro Mod- Win Kevin Riverbark R-U Ken Quartuccio, Top Dragster- Win Thomas Bayer, R-U Dylon Hough, Top Sportsman- Win Allen Firestone, R-U Bryan Warr, Super Stock- Win Ryan McClanahan, R-U Brad Burton, Stock- Win Tony Marconi (Surprise AZ) R-U Mike Cotton (Cave Creek, AZ) Super Comp Win Madison Payne, R-U Tim Parker, Super Gas- Win Evan Kowalski, R-U John Dexter (Surprise, AZ) Super Street- Win Keith Manogue (New River, AZ) R-U Matthew Bong (Glendale, AZ) Legends Nostalgia Funny Car Win Geoff Monise, R-U Bobby Cottrel CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE FINAL ROUND RACERS!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Photos by

Rod Loveless